Q&A with a fellow bookstagrammer!|@bookstorefinds

Image-1490383817834-1

Hello and welcome to a new segment on my blog where I ask some of my fellow bookstagrammers a few questions about their account and blogging habits.

For this post, I have prepared a few questions for Andrea over @bookstorefinds!! I hope you guys have as much fun reading this little interview as I had with Andrea, asking her these questions! So let’s get started, shall we?


1. What made you want to start a Bookstagram account?

I had seen booktube videos from a few different people. I loved the passion that they had for reading and found what I was looking for. I needed a way to be creative and a way to reach out to other readers. I knew I didn’t want to go with booktube, I’m rather awkward. That’s when I found that a lot of the booktubers I watched were on Instagram. The rest is history.

2. How long have you been blogging about books on Instagram?

Two years as of March 23rd. It doesn’t seem like that long though. It’s my pleasure project and when you’re doing something you love, time goes by quickly!

Screenshot_2017-03-24-20-09-40-1

3. Do you have any tips and tricks about blogging? (Themes, Captions, etc.)

 I would definitely recommend getting to know your followers. Respond to comments and just interact and ask questions. I’ve met some of my fav people in the community from when they commented on one of my pictures. A great way to do that is to ask questions in your captions and your IG stories! I’d also suggest that you try to find the style of pictures that you love. It can be really easy to fall into a habit of comparing your pics to others and that can make you feel inadequate. Finding your own style and sticking to it will allow your followers to get to know you and know what kind of content they’ll be getting if they follow you!

4. Have you had any bad/negative experiences on Bookstagram?

Not really. I’ve had a few people make a mean comment from time to time but overall my experience has been positive. I’ve been lucky to meet a lot of great people and work with great publishers and brands. That outshines any bad comment I’ve gotten.

Screenshot_2017-03-24-20-10-12-1

5. What have you learned from blogging on a public platform like?

What have you learned from blogging on a public platform like? I’ve learned a lot about myself actually. Not just things like photography and styling skills but deeper things about me. I’ve learned that I can get frustrated easy when I’m trying to be creative and sometimes I need to take a step back. I’ve learned more about my personal style and how to let insecurities go about it. My photos and captions are my style and those who like it are great, but it’s also Ok if people don’t like it.

6. Do you have any goals that you haven’t yet been able to get to, concerning your account?

 When I started I had this goal of getting 5,000 followers. I thought it would never happen. I’ve passed that now but I’m still just excited when I get new followers as I was when I got my first few. I would love to be featured on Instagram themselves. That would be really neat. Other than that I only have fangirl goals. I’ve crossed a few of those off too. I met Pierce Brown last year and a few others of my fav authors. I never would have met them if it wasn’t for my account.

Screenshot_2017-03-24-20-10-39-1

7. How would you describe your “theme” on your Bookstagram account?

 This is actually quite funny. I’ve been asked this a bunch of times and I never know how to answer it. My photo style has changed a few times since I started, but now it’s Bright, high contrast and has a kind of moody feel. Ha, I don’t know if that makes any sense. As for my captions, I like to keep things light and fun. No drama for this mama!

8. What are some highlights or special moments that have happened, concerning your book blogging career?

I’ve had so many special moments with Instagram. Meeting my fav authors at BookExpo/BookCon in Chicago last year, reaching 90k followers (totally surreal!), Having Pottermore repost a few of my photos,  I’ve met some of my fav people as well. Let’s not forget the books, I’ve read so many wonderful books. I’ve been very lucky and I’m so grateful.

Screenshot_2017-03-24-20-10-59-1

9. Do you think Bookstagram is an effective platform to express your opinion on books?

I do. Instagram is probably the hugest social media platform right now. I love that as book lovers we’ve carved out our own little corner and made it our own. It’s a great place to talk with fellow bibliophiles about what gets us through the day. READING!

10. And of course, the question that we all want to know the answer to, what is your all-time favorite book?

 Oh wow. Now you get to the hard-hitting questions. I have so many fav books. But my ultimate favs are Harry Potter, Narnia and then there a 10-way tie with so many series! HA. But if I could suggest a few, I would suggest Six of Crows, Red Rising, The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer, Never Night and Illuminae. You can’t go wrong with either of those series’.


That was it for this post! I hope you guys had fun reading through all these questions and answers! I want to thank Andrea for agreeing to fo this fun little interview and I loved reading all your lovely answers! Stay tuned for the next Q&A!

See you guys in my next post!


Andrea’s links:

Bookstagram/Instagram: @bookstorefinds

 

Goodreads: Andrea Abbott (@bookstorefinds)

Twitter: @bookstorefinds


My social medias:

Goodreads: Kübra

Instagram: @thereadercomplex

E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Q&A with a fellow bookstagrammer!|@bookstorefinds

Leave a Reply

