My favourite bookish quotes #2

img_322482

Every book lover and reader has his favorite quotes and with this segment on my blog, I want to share some of my favorite quotes that resonate with me the most. I’m very sure that you guys will know most of these. So let’s start!


  1. “There is no friend as loyal as a book.”
    Ernest Hemingway

4304

This is one of my favorite quotes because of the way it perfectly describes the meaning of a book to a reader. A book can never betray you hence the connection to loyalty.

Whenever I feel down, stressed, hopeless or tired, I can always count on a book to cheer me up or to be the one way to let out any surpressed emotions. I know that books will never turn on me, never not welcome me with open arms.

 


2. “It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.”
Oscar Wilde

4221

This quote is such an important message to any reader. We’ve all had to read books for school sometime but the books that you, yourself, choose to read and give up your time for, are the ones that define you as a person. That is why I try to read as many great books as I can. I want people to be able to look back on the books I have read and ask themselves why I read this book and what I thought about that book. How the books I read changed me as a person.


3. “Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

Valentines4a

Ahh, another very true John Green quote!! I love how relatable this quote is. It really doesn’t matter in what mood I am, I can always count on books, even if I do put them down adn want to hate them for getting me into another reading slump. I can always count on the fact that the book I’ve put down won’t ever leave me (oh my God, I sound like an old person). What do you think?


4. “Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”
Charles William Eliot

7701dca7fc8af22d6f1e7d448339fa1c

I think this quote holds the very essence of what books can do. They can be your friend, your counselor and your teacher. Books will always be their when you need them, they will always be there to hear you out and give you advice and they will even teach you the important things in life. Really, it is quite astounding what a good book can do.


5. “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

tumblr_ma3rw5V5a81qdo62to1_1280.jpg

I absolutely love this quote. It is so important to read diverse and more importantly, books that not everyone is reading! It’s so easy to let yourself go with the hype and just read what is most popular at the moment but there are so many unrecognized, amazing and meaningful books that just don’t have the platform to spread. I think this is also somewhat a challenge to some people, to sepearet yourself from the “normal” reader and explore completely different genres and books.


And that was it for this post! I will upload the next part very soon but I hope you liked this post and please do leave a comment with your favorite quotes and if you can resonate with any of these quotes like I do! You may have noticed that the first posts of this segment were focused more on quotes about books rather than from books but in my next post, I will share my favorite quotes that don’t necessarily adress books.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:

Goodreads: Kübra

Instagram: @thereadercomplex

E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

