The Fire Raven by Alex Owumi|Review

The Fire Raven

First of all, thank you so much to Alex Owumi for contacting me and sending me your book in exchange for an honest review.


Before I start my review, I want you guys to get familiar with the plot, so here’s the premise:

Raven Winter is known as the world’s most dangerous assassin. She comes from a family of assassins and killing has been her expertise for years. The Recruitment Agency is her main employer and for many years they have sent her on missions all over the world to kill some of the most dangerous people known to man. Not knowing much of her past, she only knows the life the agency has taught her, but as she gets older she wants to know more about events and people from her past.
One mission, a mission she thought was just another routine job turns into a mission that opens up a door from her past. With this one mission, she realizes that what she was once taught about her past wasn’t true and her life up to this point has been a lie. But on this day she has opened up a door that she can’t turn around and walk out of. It has caused her to dig deep into her past, and to reveal her past she has to love, lie and kill.


As I don’t want to spoil anything, I won’t be able to go into details and I hope you guys will understand my vague review!

What drew me to the book when I read the premise was the aspect of the female protagonist being an assassin.  Like how different is that, right? So of course I was intrigued.  I wanted to see what the female protagonist would be like.

I wouldn’t say I was disappointed but there were some aspects and characteristics about Raven that I did not like.  I loved that she was this badass female character who was confident in every way, really convinced of what she was doing but then again, I did not like her sudden mood swings that happened too often, for my taste anyway.  One moment she was acting like a complete doll, and then the other she was slicing throats left and right.  And I guess that’s what an assassin does but I expected her to feel remorse or have a bad conscience but that wasn’t the case at all. In situations that involved her own emotional connections, she acted too cold-hearted.

What I liked was that I was constantly questioning literally everything and everyone.  There was so much room for me to just think and imagine different endings and I really did like that. Even though there were some predictable plot lines, I didn’t expect most of the chapters to end like they did.

Coming to the characters and the relationships in the book, I had some problems with characters and their actions. Because naming names would give away too much, I will try my best to generalize these aspects.

So, I had the feeling that some relationships developed very quickly, so quick that it seemed bizarre how the characters acted.  Through the whole book I was questioning these characters. And I honestly got annoyed by some of them at some point.

Nevertheless, I must say that the storyline kept me reading and I had finished the book in two sittings.  Owumi has an interesting writing style that captivates the reader to the extent that even when one does not approve of a character or a plot line, one still wants to know what happens in the end.

Therefore, I would recommend this story to anyone who likes very fast paced stories with a lot of plot twists happening.

Overall Rating: 3/5 stars 

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:

Goodreads: Kübra

Instagram: @thereadercomplex

E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

