This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab|Review

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)

“Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They’re gonna come and eat you all.
Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.
Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.
Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They’re gonna come and eat you all!”
Victoria Schwab, This Savage Song

 

 


When I started reading this book, I didn’t know anything at all about the plot. And I’m really happy that I didnt research it because that would’ve had spoiled a lot for me. I sat down, started reading it and then finished it in one sitting.

But before I go into more detail, here is the premise:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.


 

From the very first chapter, I was hooked. I was hooked because of one of the protagonists Kate Harker. I loved her attitude and her narrative, it really drew me in and made me anticipate the following chapters. But then, there came another protagonist, August Flynn. And August Flynn wasnt your normal male protagonist, in no way actually. I don’t want to give anything away but normally the male protagonist is always the superior one, always stronger and in no way vulnerable. But that wasnt the case with August. From the very beginning, we get to see his deepest fears, the chaos going on in his mind. And in comparison to Kate, he displays an uncertanty that we dont get to see in a male character very often.

The characters werent over written and I mean over done by that. Kate and August showed all of themselves from the very beginning, making it more easy for the reader to understand them and especially the storyline too.

Coming to the story itself, I really liked the uniqueness of Schwab’s plot. I don’t think I’ve ever read something like this. The story really captivated me and really, it never got boring. There was always something going on.

The world that Schwab has created is just really damn cool. The way that she mapped out the story, made the reader get to know more and more about the world with every chapter which I thought just added up to the ongoing tension. It also made me think of more and more questions every time there was something new revealed about the world or the characters. The world itself isn’t actually that complex but because Schwab worked in all these intricate details, it does seem quite complex when thinking about it. But nevertheless I think that Schwab always had a red thread pulling through the whole book and keeping the reader going which is quite a challenge in this kind of genre.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy/high fantasy or a bit of a mystery. I definitely think this book is suited for both young adults and adult readers.

Overall rating: 5/5

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:

Goodreads: Kübra

Instagram: @thereadercomplex

E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

One thought on “This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab|Review

Leave a Reply

