Red Rising by Pierce Brown|Review

15839976

“Funny how a single word can change everything in your life.”
“It is not funny at all. Steel is power. Money is power. But of all the things in all the worlds, words are power.”
Pierce Brown, Red Rising

 

 


I want to jump right into my review but first, the premise:

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.


So first of all, I am so happy that I learned all about the author before reading this book. Pierce Brown is a very open person concerning his readers (at least that is what I have gathered from watching him). And with watching him, I mean watching his numerous YouTube videos on Natasha‘s channel from whom I learned about Pierce and his books. Now, I’m not one of those readers that get obsessed with the authors of the books I read (most of the time lol) but this time, I really got to know the author before reading anything and that got me a bit obsessed (just a bit).

raw

Coming to the first book in his trilogy,  I knew from all the interviews that he put a lot of work into it and I, naturally, had high expectations. I didn’t know anything about the book or the trilogy when I started reading it and I guess it doesn’t really matter if you’ve read the back of the book or watched tons of reviews and think to know the book because it was so easy getting into the story and understanding how the world worked. I admire any author that can introduce a plot in a way that leaves you wanting for more, not confused at all and even already thinking about all the scenarios that the book could play out in. Reading more and more of the book, I noticed that Brown tried to add bits and bits of information that would play an immensely huge role in the conclusion of the book. As a reader, you of course sense that and try to remember all those tiny but important pieces of information but when it gets to the point where there are so many of them and you try to keep up with the main plot, the characters AND those bits of important information at the same time, you just loose ’em all. Which is a good thing. Because this genius way of writing allowed Brown to piece all those important but tiny pieces of information and hints together which made for an amazing conclusion.

I absolutely loved the characters. They were so unexpected and raw and relatable. Darrow, the main protagonist, had such a big character development. When you think about it, it actually doesn’t seem like it but looking at the Darrow in the beginning of the book and the Darrow (or Reaper) at the end of the book and comparing those two, there is a huge difference. Also, his character was a very relatable and young one, so my heart just went out to him every time something happened or he failed

tumblr_ma7u5eaX8a1qz53j7

because as young adults, we all experience that.

I was very impressed with Sevro’s character which is one of the Golds that Darrow befriends in the Institute. The thing that impressed me so much was that Sevro isn’t your normal kind of male character. He is very much at a disadvantage when you look at all the other Golds but he actually isn’t. I don’t know how to explain his character but he is a very brilliantly written one, with his looks as his biggest disadvantage but his brains as his forte. Of course, I cannot forget the female characters. I loved all of them. Eo and Mustang especially. They both were so balanced out and thank God, not your typical annoying female characters.

Coming to the hardest part to review, the world. The gorydamn world that Pierce Brown created. I don’t even know how, like how , someone could possibly come up with such an amazing world. The world was literally all I am looking for in a Fantasy/Sci-fi novel. With its intricate details, the hierarchy, the language, the people itself, the politics, et cetera et cetera.

tumblr_maehylcxfp1r3nkzc

So to conclude this review, I would highly recommend this to any reader out there looking for a fast – paced but nevertheless long novel which is intricate with its details, intriguing with its characters and the world and seriously mind – blowing with its writing.

Overall rating: 100%  5/5 stars

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:

Goodreads: Kübra
Instagram: @thereadercomplex
E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

