Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo|Review

51LYZqzZcNL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_

“Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns you heart.”
Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

 

 


To be honest, I didn’t like this book at all when I first started it but then more and more things happened and I really could not stop reading. I suggest you all to read this book.


 

But first, the premise:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.


 


As stated above, I did not like this book at first, I couldn’t connect with the characters at all, didn’t get the plot and the idea behind the book. But then Bardugo layed out all her weapons (if you want to call her writing that) and I was intrigued. I couldn’t stop reading anymore.

I really liked the world even though it was the same as in the Grisha trilogy, it was so much more different than Ravka simply because we weren’t there anymore but in the notorious city of thieves, Ketterdam. Bardugo gave a lot of detail about the world of Ketterdam but while reading, you never felt overwhelmed by any of that information. She managed to keep a balance while trying to establish a new world into an already existing one. I loved how Bardugo put some little hints on the Grisha trilogy into the book and especially loved how she mentioned one of the characters. Even though Six of Crows is set in the same world as the Grisha trilogy, anyone who hasn’t read the books would still understand everything.

I really liked all of the characters and at times I found myself cheering for them. I must say that I was surprised that our main protagonist, Kaz, wasn’t the typical male hero we’re so used to. During the book, he was always giving off a vibe of mystery and I guess, tragedy too. Overall, the characters were all amazingly well written and I really enjoyed reading out of multiple point of views.

When I finished the book, I realized that there weren’t any major plot twists. Of course, there were some but not like in every other fantasy novel. And I must say that even without any major plot twist, one didn’t want to stop reading simply because Bardugo has an incredible writing style and way of keeping the reader with her.

Finally, I especially loved how Bardugo succeeded in writing an actual fantasy novel, focused on the world and the main plot. Of course, there were limits at romance which is inevitable in every book and I loved those parts but I felt like that amount of romance was just enough.

An intriguing, fast-paced and mind-blowing masterpiece.

I highly recommend this to anyone loving fantasy.

Overall rating: 4.75/5

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:
Instagram: @thereadercomplex
Twitter: @threadrcomplex
E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo|Review

  1. It took me a little while to get into this book too. I felt kind of guilty about it because I really really like the Grisha Trilogy. I feel like her workd buikding was almost too much sometimes. It was kind of hard for me to follow even though I read thr Grisha! I loved the reference to Sankta Alina!! I really enjoyed all the characters too but I think my favorites were Kaz, Inej and Jesper! I’m very curious to see where the second book goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too, that’s exactly how I felt!! I guess I kind of got used to it though, I mean there was so much happening in the book, it was insane!!! I’m really excited for the sequel though, kind of hoping for Ravka to come back into the story because I miss everyone from the Grisha trilogy! Did you notice that Zoya was named too? That was so cool!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #2| Ten Books Set Outside The US | The Reader Complex

Leave a Reply

