Don’t you have any favorites this year, Kübra?|Favorite books 2015

IMG-20150916-WA0005-01

The title already gives away what I’m going to talk about in this post. I’ve been asked this particular question a lot lately and I honestly haven’t thought about any favorites this year until now.


It’s an incredible hard question to answer and as much as I think about the harder it gets to answer it because there are simply too many amazing books. When I was taking some pictures for my Bookstagram (@thereadercomplex), I chose my favorite books of this year, on a whim, if I may say so. And when I say on a whim, I mean that I just decided that these books were the best I’ve read and my favorites this year because I simply enjoyed them so so much. Even though I’ve read some amazingly well written books this year, these books really were fantastic. This year has been a fantastic year for us readers and I cannot wait for 2016 what it will bring us book wise.

The books are in no particular order.


 

1. Blood, Ink & Fire by Ashley Mansour

Screenshot_2015-12-30-23-05-11-1

This book was probably the best YA/Fantasy/Paranormal/Dystopien I’ve read this year. I absolutely loved and devoured this book and I cannot wait for everyone else to read it too. I’m not going to give away much just because it’s only right that everyone goes into this book knowing absolutely nothing. Everything about this book was perfect, from the world to the characters and the ending.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

2. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson 

IMG-20150826-WA0039-01

When I started reading this book I knew nothing about it. I read this book when there wasn’t as much hype around it as now but it was still being praised everywhere. Naturally, I expected a lot and what I got was so much more. I connected with this book on a lot of different levels. I’ll Give You The Sun described something I was so familiar with which was so weird to read about.

Jandy Nelson really outdid herself with this book because she touched up on so many different aspects of real life. Definitely the best contemporary of this year. You can read my full review right here.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

3. Winter by Marissa Meyer

IMG-20151120-WA0002-01

I’m sure everyone saw this coming because let’s be honest, this book was fantastic. Meyer wrote such an amazing conclusion to the amazing Lunar Chronicles and I’m weirdly feeling very proud of her for not disappointing us and giving us an amazing ending. For everyone that hasn’t still read this series, GET OUT. I’m just kidding, but you should definitely check out the first book, Cinder.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

4. Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone – Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay

IMG-20151206-WA0014-01

I was so happy when I found out Harry Potter was being illustrated by the one and only Jim Kay who is such an amazing illustrater. But rereading the first book of the world’s most amazing book series and seeing those amazing illustrations alongside Rowling’s magic, it moved me like nothing else. I was so excited to reread this book even though I was so very familiar with its content. I’m very fortunate about the future and that even more children will discover the wizarding world, at least that is what I hope.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

5. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Photo

Screenshot_2015-12-30-23-05-03-1

Wow, wow, wow, wow. That’s all I’ve got to say about this book. I feel like I was the first person to read this book because literally no one knew about it being released but I was really really intrigued so I immediately started reading. I must admit that I’ve never took this long to finish a book but it was a very slow reading process for me. Nevertheless, after a while of reading I just sat down and decided to finish it and I was so happy I did that. This book was everything a reader would want from an historical fiction. I highly highly recommend this book and if you want to know more about it, here’s my full review.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

6. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson 

IMG_20150526_162112-01

Another amazing contemporary by Jandy Nelson that I absolutely adored and related to like no other book. I feel like Nelson wrote all her books specifically for me because they describe exactly what I’ve been through. I have no other words for this book but I really do wish that everyone reads it and that it gets its deserved success because Nelson and this books is only deserving of the best.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

7. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas 

IMG-20150913-WA0039-01

I guess this is quite an obvious choice too but I would’ve been crazy not to include this in my favorite books post. Queen of Shadows was just such an amazingly well written book, it absolutely blew my mind. I remember when I was reading it, I didn’t ever want to stop and I was so eager to read more because the plot was so gripping. I didn’t just read the book because I wanted to read it but because the story really was so very exciting that you literally couldn’t stop reading even if you wanted to. I’m more than excited for the next installment in this series. For those of you who haven’t read this book, it is the fourth installment in a high fantasy series with six books. Throne of Glass is the first one and I’d recommend you to go read it as fast as you can or else you might be missing out on something.

 

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

8. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

IMG-20151015-WA0003-01

I normally can’t stand any kind of horror/thriller/generally scary books but any reader would’ve been intrigued by all the hype surrounding this book. Like seriously, it’s not normal. I was scared shitless when I read this book because I’m the dumb reader that decides to read a very scary book during the night when the scare factor is multiplied by, let’s say, A THOUSAND. Even though I was scared like hell, I loved loved loved the idea behind this book because it was so so original. I’ve read a lot of books but never have I read something like this. Riggs really outdid himself with this and I also cannot believe that this is his debut novel, like what? Please everyone, go read this book and support this new author!

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

9. A Court Of Thornes And Roses by Sarah J. Maas 

IMG_20150620_152859-01

Another book by the queen of fantasy. I really loved the characters of this book which were amazingly well written and just brought together so well. Even though this is a high fantasy series, I loved that Maas pushed the world into the background whereas the romance got to shine a lot more and I think that was a very nice and different kind of setting. I’m very excited for the sequel and I expect Maas to build up much more of the world in the sequel but I hope she still keeps the romance in the foreground.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


 

10. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

2015-09-05_20.37.44

This book appeared out of nowhere and I got it mainly because of the cover but also because the premise sounded so very intriguing and different than anything else I’ve ever read. Fortunately, Yoon didn’t disappoint and delivered such an amazing book. I really loved all the ideas that Yoon put into just one book and how she connected everything so perfectly in the end. If you want to know more, here is my full review.

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


2015 was a very good year reading wise and I only hope that 2016 will be even better.

What were your favorite books of 2015?


Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:
Instagram: @thereadercomplex
Twitter: @threadrcomplex
E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

