Evernight by Claudia Gray| Review

2722413

“I was the only one who knew the whole truth about Lucas–who he really was, and what we felt for each other. The truth was all I had left of him, and I would have to carry it alone.”
Claudia Gray, Evernight


I bought this book very spontaneously because I absolutely loved A Thousand Pieces Of You by Claudia Gray and I wanted to read some of her other work to get a better picture of her writing. I didn’t have a clue what this book was about. I have a lot of thoughts and aspects I want to talk about that I liked and that I didn’t like.


But first, the premise:

Bianca wants to escape.

She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.

Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the “Evernight type” either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.

“I couldn’t stand it if they took it out on you,” he tells Bianca, “and eventually they would.”

But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed.


So basically, this series is a vampire series. You’d think that books about vampires would be boring by now but Gray actually managed to write something that is kind of original. I liked a lot of things in this book. But I also didn’t like a whole lot of things.

The setting of Evernight is a boarding school. I’ve read a lot of books set in boarding schools but I never get tired of it. I particularly liked this one because the female protagonist lived there permanently, which means that her parents were with her at Evernight (they’re teachers).

The characters were intriguing at first but I had some serious issues with the development of Bianca and sometimes Lucas too. So, there is a (kind of but not really) love triangle that I’m sure we’ll read more about in the following books but in this book it was actually OK and didn’t bother me very much. What did bother me though, was that there was insta love, like insta insta insta love. I absolutely hate insta love and I’m not trying to degrade the book but it was so obvious. I would’ve liked that to progress a bit slower, it’s a series after all, there’s no need to rush things.

Now, when I was reading the book I was thinking that the plot is actually really good but it was so simple that I thought this would be just another one of those love-stories. BUT then Claudia Gray came around with a HUGE plot twist and I found myself completely and utterly shocked because she literally dropped a bomb and revealed everything. So, that twist kept me going.

I was so shocked and in awe because of that twist that I thought this book would end fantastic. Honestly, I was really disappointed with the ending but I am going to read the sequel, just to see how things will develop.

All in all, this book was nice but I was really disappointed by the characters but sadly I can’t talk about that without spoiling you guys.

Overall Rating: 2.9/5 stars

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart


SPOILERY DISCUSSION!!

I just need to talk about some things and some people in this book that just made me want to throw the book against a wall.

First of all, WHAT THE HELL was Bianca thinking when she returned to Lucas??? Like what the actual fuck?? I can’t believe how dumb she was in that moment!! I mean, they’re in love and stuff, I get it but he’s LITERALLY been trained to hunt her down!!

I was massively disappointed with Bianca. I expected vengeance and rage from her. The moment she realized that Lucas betrayed her (reminded me of Red Queen) I was so sure she was going to end him. And then she just forgives him. That was the worst ending I’ve ever read. I expected a fight and Lucas’ betrayal to be real. I swear I still think Lucas is lying and using her.

*rant over*


Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:
Instagram: @thereadercomplex
Twitter: @threadrcomplex
E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

