Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon|Review

18692431

Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything


I just finished this book and I am completely and utterly speechless. I can’t really express my feelings toward this book but I’m going to try so stay with me.


But first, the premise:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


Now, you may think this story is one of those corny love stories where the girl gets healed miraculously because of her feelings towards the boy or some shit but honestly, you couldn’t be more wrong. I was, naturally, intrigued by the premise because “a girl that is allergic to the world” sounds kind of crazy.

The story that Yoon has written is absolutely enthralling and so so original and unique. I can’t believe how she came up with something as intriguing and fascinating as this. Just reading how someone could possibly live with something like that is so hard to imagine. For us readers it’s almost impossible to emphasize with the female protagonist because she is in such a different and inconceivable situation.

So even though it was hard  to put yourself in Madeline’s shoes, I loved her as a character and felt so much compassion towards her situation. Olly was an amazing male protagonist and I loved that Yoon really separated herself from other authors by being realistic in how she wrote the characters’ attitudes and actions and by handling her story and her characters like they were real.

Everything, Everything was an amazing read because when I first started it I didn’t want to keep reading more because I didn’t want it to end and when a book makes you feel like that, you know that it is a good book.

I have to comment on one last thing and that is how amazingly and cleverly Yoon wrapped up the story. I loved how the plot developed and with it the characters and in the end, we got an amazing conclusion.

Real, beautiful and raw.

Overall Rating: 5/5 

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!


My social medias:
Instagram: @thereadercomplex
Twitter: @threadrcomplex
E-mail: kuebra102@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon|Review

  1. Pingback: Don’t you have any favorites this year, Kübra?|Favorite books 2015 | The Reader Complex

Leave a Reply

