Review: Breaking Nova by Jessica Sorensen

rezension-nova-quinton-true-love-L-McMS7H

“People say that time heals all wounds, and maybe they’re right. But what if the wounds don’t heal correctly, like when cuts leave behind nasty scars, or when broken bones mend together, but aren’t as smooth anymore? Does it mean they’re really healed? Or is it that the body did what it could to fix what broke…”
Jessica Sorensen, Breaking Nova


A big thank you to Heyne for providing this review copy!

I loved this book more in the end than I expected. Drugs, suicide, accidents, and more are all packed in this book and Sorensen did a great job in bringing all these horrible and depressing things together to create a very realistic love story.

Now, the book is about a heart-broken girl, Nova Reeds, who tries to grieve and finds herself in front of Quinton Carter who blames himself for something unfixable. Both lost their love of their lives and can’t think of how the next day will play out.

I thought that the way how Sorensen introduced us to the protagonists’ situation was very well written. Even though the plot and the story it evolves around was very heavy, she still managed to keep the reader intrigued. I had no problems starting the book but I slowly found myself annoyed by Nova’s attitude because she was always very whiny which is understandable regarding her past but it kind of annoyed me anyway. That was the only reason I put the book down for almost a week. Then, I decided to read more and found myself not wanting to stop til the very end. I finished it in no time. Even though, it wasn’t the best book and it wasn’t perfect, it still left me very satisfied.

The characters were okay. I liked the main characters, Nova and Quinton but all the others were too exaggeratedly written for me and I often rolled my eyes.

All in all, I’d say this was a good book if you consider the topic it was based on. It seemed like the author struggled with all of those topics but it turned out better than I thought in the end.

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Amazon-Add-to-Cart

Leave a Reply

