Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (No spoilers)

Aveyard-01-700x394

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this

world on fire and call it rain.” ― Victoria Aveyard, Red Queen


The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?


First of all, I want to say that this book was everything what I expected it to be. I loved the world building in this book even though it seemed complex at the beginning, it really wasn’t that complex.

The author hinted at how the rest of the world is made up but I guess we’ll get a better explanation for that in the sequel.

As we know, the Silvers have these crazy awesome abilities and those were just the highlight for me. It was so awesome to read about the different types of abilities the Silvers had and how they worked.

I really liked the characters and their (kind of) development. Our female protagonist, Mare Barrow, is the strong Katniss-type of girl. I loved that she wasn’t scared to be vulnerable at times but also could kick ass if needed. Then we have Cal and Maven, the two princes and twins who I immediately liked. Cal and Maven are definitely not the typical kind of princes. Of course, they are both charming and attractive but one mustn’t be fooled by that.

There was a love-triangle in the book but it was an okay love-triangle. The romance is really hard to explain because there is romance but there also isn’t. The romance kind of took a back seat to the main story and I felt like Aveyard tried to focus more on the world and the things happening in the story.

The last thing I want to add is that the plot twists were fantastic and left me speechless again and again All in all, I think this book was mind-blowingly fantastic and amazing. Red Queen was one of my most anticipated books of 2015 and it is now one of my favorite books of the year.

If you liked The Hunger Games or the Selection, you’ll definitely love this book.

Overall Rating: 5/5

7 thoughts on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (No spoilers)

Leave a Reply

