Review: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (Spoilers!)

6a010536b33b69970b019aff0e93c8970d-250wi

 Warning: Spoilers!

It is the year 2059. Several major world cities are under the control of a security force called Scion.Paige Mahoney works in the criminal underworld of Scion London,  part of a secret cell known as the Seven Seals. The work she does is unusual: scouting for information by breaking into others’ minds. Paige is a dreamwalker, a rare  kind of clairvoyant, and in this world, the voyants commit treason simply by breathing.


I cannot believe I didn’t start this book sooner. This was such a unique story with a fantastic ending.

First of all, I want to say that the storyline of this book was so original and mind-blowing, I can’t believe how someone could possibly come up with something so complex.

When I first started reading, I wasn’t sure I would ever understand the world of Scion, the Seven Dials and all that but as I kept on reading I was drawn into the story and found myself understanding how everything worked.

It was all I expected and wanted this book to be.

Every chapter left me wanting more and more and I tried seeing what Shannon was going to do next but what then came left me speechless.

I loved all of her characters, even Warden, when we were first introduced to him. I swear I knew something was up with him.
We had an amazing female protagonist who was both vulnerable and badass and I absolutely loved Paige.

When Paige, Julian and Liss first started talking about escaping Sheol I, I was seriously worried and feared another Bone Season XVIII coming.
Fortunately, the characters were sane enough to see that they weren’t going to establish anything without the help of the Rephaim or the “Scarred“, if you will.

I loved the character development Warden went through and I knew that there was something going to happen between our two main characters.

The ending was really intense but Shannon didn’t disappoint us and she added many more plot twists to an amazing and fantastic ending.

All in all, I would highly recommend this book to every fantasy lover.

This book is supposedly a New Adult or Adult book but I think all my fellow YA Readers would equally enjoy this book.

Overall Rating: 5/5 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (Spoilers!)

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Fantasy #1 The Bone Season | The Reader Complex

  2. Pingback: What do I have on pre-order?|My pre-ordered books | The Reader Complex

Leave a Reply

